Bookish Bingo and Carry On

Bookish bingo

Let’s start with the sane part of this post, shall we?

Bookish Bingo November

I’ve been participating in the Fall/Winter edition of Bookish Bingo, hosted by Great Imaginations. You can find the books that I read in October here! The books that I ticked off this month were these:

Historical: Scarlet by AC Gaughen
Set in New Orleans: Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. It was a re-read, but…does it count? *shrugs*
Horror: The Mist in the Mirror by Susan Hill. I read it for school, and I can now tell you all about the literary devices in the extract ‘The Chapel’. -_-
Red Cover: Walkabout by James Vance Marshall
Snow on Cover: Here’s where it gets confusing. This one is My True Love Gave to Me, edited by Stephanie Perkins. It used to be on a different square, but I replaced it with Winter Town. (I’m in it to win it, okay? :P)
Birds on cover: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Set during Christmastime: Winter Town by Stephen Emond. (This was the one that replaced My True Love Gave to Me!)
Set in space: A Confusion of Princes by Garth Nix. Not my usual fare (it was both my first sci-fi and my first Garth Nis novel) but it was enjoyable nonetheless.
Witches: Burn Mark by Laura Powell

At the moment, I’m reading Black Spring by Alison Croggon (poet and author of that wonderful high fantasy series) and I’m loving it. A lot of GR reviews complain that it’s plagiarised from Wuthering Heights, which it was based on, so if Wuthering Heights is anything like this then I WANT TO READ IT. Except I’ll have to hide it from  my mum, because I have a long-standing vendetta against reading Pride and Prejudice (one of her favourites) and this would undoubtedly compromise my position.


Now, onto the rather more…let’s say, panicked part of today: RAINBOW ROWELL’S NEW BOOK IS GOING TO BE CARRY ON!  Yes, based on Simon Snow in Fangirl! I know that Simon Snow is basically just fake Harry Potter, but I can’t help myself. Plus, there’s going to be a(nother) special edition of Fangirl with an excerpt from it coming out May. It comes in three different colours and includes fan art from various tumblr artists.

yay merida

I already have three editions of Fangirl, but I’m seriously considering increasing that number. Seriously. Such is the life of a book addict.

Have you read any of the books I ticked off this month? What are your thoughts on Carry On? I’d love to know!

7 thoughts on “Bookish Bingo and Carry On

  1. I can’t wait to start reading again. 😦 I’m in my final year of schooling and well I’ve got more Physics to read than i can handle. Oops I forgot about math and chem and every other god forsaken subject. 5 more months. Then you’re giving me a gigantic list of books to devour. Alright? 🙂

A penny for your thoughts?